Ferrari F1 Drivers List by Year

When you think of Formula One racing, Ferrari is likely one of the first names that comes to mind. With a lineage of world-class drivers and high-performance vehicles, it’s no wonder this iconic brand has made its mark in the annals of F1 history.

From the early days of Piero Taruffi and Luigi Villoresi in the 1950s, through the championship-winning years of Alberto Ascari, Ferrari has consistently fielded a roster of top-tier talent. Each year, this renowned team brings together a blend of experience, skill, and raw speed, all wrapped up in the unmistakable Ferrari red. Today we will find out the rich history of Ferrari’s F1 drivers, year by year.

All Ferrari F1 Drivers List by Year

Here we provide detailed insights into a selection of Ferrari F1 drivers from different eras, reflecting the team’s rich history and the diverse talents that have driven for them.

1. Alberto Ascari (1950-1955)

Alberto Ascari, an Italian racing legend, was Ferrari’s leading driver in the early 1950s. Known for his meticulous preparation and smooth driving style, Ascari secured two World Championships for Ferrari in 1952 and 1953. His success helped solidify Ferrari’s reputation in Formula 1, making him one of the most celebrated drivers in the sport’s history.

2. Juan Manuel Fangio (1956)

Juan Manuel Fangio, often regarded as one of the greatest racing drivers of all time, drove for Ferrari in 1956, winning his fourth World Championship with the team. Fangio’s skill, precision, and ability to extract the maximum from any car he drove made his stint with Ferrari a memorable part of his illustrious career.

3. John Surtees (1963-1966)

John Surtees is the only person to have won World Championships on both two and four wheels. Driving for Ferrari, he clinched the Formula 1 World Championship in 1964. Surtees was known for his bravery, technical feedback, and versatility, traits that endeared him to fans and teams alike.

4. Niki Lauda (1974-1977)

Niki Lauda’s tenure with Ferrari saw him winning two World Championships in 1975 and 1977. Lauda was renowned for his comeback following a near-fatal crash in 1976, showcasing his determination, analytical approach to racing, and resilience, which have become legendary in the sport’s lore.

5. Gilles Villeneuve (1977-1982)

Gilles Villeneuve, remembered for his daring driving style and incredible car control, became a fan favorite during his time with Ferrari. Despite winning only six races, Villeneuve’s fearless approach and spectacular performances left a lasting legacy and endeared him to the Ferrari faithful.

6. Michael Schumacher (1996-2006)

Michael Schumacher, arguably the most famous Ferrari driver, joined the team in 1996, leading them to five consecutive World Championships from 2000 to 2004. Schumacher’s work ethic, speed, and partnership with technical director Ross Brawn revolutionized Ferrari, making them the team to beat in the early 2000s.

7. Fernando Alonso (2010-2014)

Fernando Alonso, known for his all-around ability and racecraft, drove for Ferrari from 2010 to 2014, coming close to winning the championship in 2010 and 2012. Alonso’s tenure at Ferrari was marked by his leadership, consistent performances, and ability to compete for championships against technically superior rivals.

8. Sebastian Vettel (2015-2020)

Sebastian Vettel, a four-time World Champion, joined Ferrari with high hopes of emulating his idol, Michael Schumacher. While Vettel secured several wins and competed for the championship, especially in 2017 and 2018, his time with Ferrari was a mix of high expectations and challenging moments.

9. Kimi Räikkönen (2007, 2014-2018)

Kimi Räikkönen, known for his cool demeanor and “Iceman” nickname, brought Ferrari their last Drivers’ Championship in 2007. Räikkönen’s straightforward personality, combined with his undeniable speed and skill, made him a beloved figure among fans and a respected competitor on the track. His win at the 2007 Brazilian Grand Prix, clinching the championship by a single point, remains one of the most dramatic finales in F1 history.

10. Felipe Massa (2006-2013)

Felipe Massa raced for Ferrari during a highly competitive era, coming incredibly close to winning the World Championship in 2008. Massa’s tenure at Ferrari was marked by his speed, consistency, and resilience, particularly notable in his comeback following a severe accident in 2009. His emotional victory at the 2008 Brazilian Grand Prix, though ultimately short of securing the championship, showcased his talent and determination.

11. Charles Leclerc (2019-Present)

Charles Leclerc, the Monegasque driver who joined Ferrari in 2019, has quickly established himself as a star of the future. Known for his raw pace, aggressive racing style, and maturity beyond his years, Leclerc has secured multiple wins and pole positions, positioning himself as a central figure in Ferrari’s future plans. His maiden win at the 2019 Belgian Grand Prix, coupled with a poignant victory in Italy, cemented his status as a fan favorite and a worthy successor to Ferrari’s rich driving legacy.

12. Carlos Sainz Jr. (2021-Present)

Carlos Sainz Jr. joined Ferrari in 2021, bringing with him a reputation for consistency, adaptability, and a positive team spirit. Sainz’s smooth transition to Ferrari and immediate competitiveness have impressed many, showcasing his ability to extract performance from the car and contribute to the team’s resurgence as a championship contender. His podium finishes and solid performances have made him a valuable asset to the Scuderia.

These drivers, among many others who have donned the Ferrari red over the years, have contributed to the tapestry of successes, challenges, and unforgettable moments that define Ferrari’s legacy in Formula 1. Each brought their unique strengths, personalities, and driving styles to the fore, contributing to the team’s rich history in the sport. As Ferrari continues to compete at the highest level, the contributions of these and future drivers will keep adding to the storied legacy of one of the most iconic teams in Formula 1 racing.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who was the first Ferrari driver in F1?

Alberto Ascari, Luigi Villoresi, and Raymond Sommer were the first to drive for Ferrari in F1. The team’s debut took place during the Monaco GP on May 21, 1950.

Who drove for Ferrari in 2010?

Fernando Alonso, a former Renault driver and two-time World Champion, replaced Kimi Räikkönen for Ferrari in 2010, marking his first year with the team.

Who drove for Ferrari in 2000?

Michael Schumacher and Rubens Barrichello drove for Ferrari in 2000. The season resulted in both the Drivers’ Championship win for Schumacher and the Constructors’ Championship for Scuderia Ferrari.

Who is the most famous Ferrari F1 driver?

Michael Schumacher is arguably the most famous Ferrari F1 driver. His success with Ferrari from 1996 to 2006 established him as one of the greatest drivers in F1 history.

Who used to drive for Ferrari?

Alberto Ascari, Juan Manuel Fangio, Mike Hawthorn, Phil Hill, John Surtees, Niki Lauda, Jody Scheckter, Michael Schumacher, and Kimi Räikkönen were among the drivers who won the Championship while driving for Ferrari.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *